DPS911 Release 7

I have been working on adding commands to Butter, which is making use of the UndoManager discussed earlier. I talked more about it in the blog post, “DPS911 Release 6”, stating that the following items still need to be completed

  • testing
  • putting the code in the right place
  • adding more commands
  • adding shortcuts to command objects

I have now added 9 tests that make sure that the UndoManager is working correctly. I have also moved the code from butter-main.js, which is now just called main.js, to a new file named src/core/commands.js. For now, all of the commands and convenience functions are in this file. I have added more command objects, and now Butter can undo and redo the following

  • adding track events
  • removing track events
  • adding tracks
  • removing tracks
  • changing the media url

All of the commits are here, and the diff is here. This is definitely my biggest patch that I have submitted to Butter, which is, so far, 399 additions and 21 deletions. There is still work that needs to be done. For the new code introduced to work cleanly, I still need to create a diagram of how all of this will work. Before I can do that, though, I need a diagram of Butter’s current design. Once the diagram is complete, everyone can see from a high level how objects interact with each other, and we can develop a workflow of what needs to be done when a new command needs to be created.

Implementing undo and redo for adding and removing a track was interesting, because when I deleted the first track and then undid the change, it was added as the last track. The problem ended up being an ordering issue, and I had to change a bit of code in a few areas. In the addTrack function in src/core/media.js, I added another argument, named order. If order is passed in, then that is the value that is set on the track. To actually make the the ordering work, I changed the code in src/timeline/track-container.js and src/timeline/trackhandles.js to use the insertBefore function rather than append on the container element. For example, src/core/trackhandles.js has the following code:

_listElement.insertBefore( trackDiv, _listElement.children[ e.data.order ] );

While testing out the undoing and redoing of adding/removing track events, I noticed a bug. The command object that is responsible for adding a track event was creating a new track event every time it was told to execute. This caused some weird behaviour, which took some digging to find. The fix was simply to create a new track event based on the one that was previously created instead of always creating a fresh one.

There is not enough time for this to be 100% complete before the semester, especially since I need to wait for a diagram to be created, and the new code still needs to go through review. However, I do plan on finishing this, because I would like to see it land in Butter, so that users can work on their projects knowing that they can undo and redo their changes.

This entry was posted in Open Source. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

